New BBC Radio 1 Breakfast Host: Grimshaw to replace Moyles

Earlier this morning, Chris Moyles announced that he would be stepping down from the iconic BBC Radio 1 Breakfast Show, after 8 and a half years. 

“So I have an announcement to make, as I said – I have my announcement to make, and I am now going to make my announcement. Thank you very much. And for most of our audience, it’s probably the last thing they want to hear me say. But you know me, I don’t do things by halves – so cue the sad music.”

“I started this radio show in the morning back in January 2004 and it was my dream job, the one I wanted since a child – the coveted Radio 1 breakfast show. I know some kids wanted to be a professional footballer or a fireman but not me, I’m a geek. I wanted to be on the radio. I wanted the biggest radio show you can get and eventually, I got it. And for the last eight and half years, I’ve had the best time of my life. And I’ve got to share it with a small group of friends and 8 million strangers, every morning for three and a half hours a day… So I’m going to say it, not the papers or twitter, me. We’re going to leave the breakfast show.” 

Chris will leave the Breakfast Show in September, as he is set to play ‘Herod’ in a UK tour of Lord Andrew Lloyd Webber’s musical ‘Jesus Christ Superstar. With almost 7 million listeners tuning in each morning, Chris and his team have won two Sony Gold Awards, Best Entertainment show and Best Breakfast show. In 2011, Moyles and Comedy Dave Vitty, raised over £3 million for Comic Relief , when they took part in the longest radio show, lasting 53 hours. Leaving quite the legacy behind him, Radio 1 and 1Xtra controller, Ben Cooper, commented:

“I’d like to thank Chris. Quite simply he’s been the most successful breakfast show host in Radio 1 history. He’s done it for more than eight and half years and he’s been fantastic.”

Nick Grimshaw (Grimmy)

Big news for Radio 1 DJ Nick Grimshaw, who will take over the coveted show in September. Grimmy, currently presents the popular late night show Monday-Thursday (10pm to midnight), as well as co-hosting the Sunday night show with Annie Mac. He’s also a regular T4 presenter on Channel 4 and E4. Ben cooper commented that today’s change up is just part of a whole strategy to lower the average age group for the station and has every faith in appointing Nick Grimshaw. 

“Nick is a great broadcaster with a passion for music and a mischievous sense of humour, which has made him a hit with our listeners. He will be an excellent host for Radio 1’s new breakfast show, bringing a new generation of listeners with him.”

27 year old Nick Grimshaw is delighted with the news and commented:

“I’m super excited to be hosting the iconic Radio 1 Breakfast Show, it’s been a dream of mine since the age of 11 and to be honest it hasn’t really sunk in yet. I love Chris and have always looked up to him as one of the best broadcasters ever.” 

Fellow Radio 1 Dj’s and celebs have shown lots of support for Moyles and Grimmy this morning, with tweets from Garry Barlow, Fearne Cotton, Greg James, Olly Murs and Annie Mac.

Tune in to Nick Grimshaw today at 4pm (covering for Greg James), where he will no doubt comment further on the exciting news!

One last thought – now that Grimmy will be finishing up his night time show, he won’t be able to finish the nightly feature ‘1000 Albums Everyone Says You Should Listen To But We’ve Only Got Time To Play One Track So Here It Is’. Will this continue to daytime?

Leave a Reply

