March Picks


March delivered another impressive month of music.  Ultra Music Festival invaded Miami as part of the Winter Music conference, with 100’s of acts playing over the 3 day event. There were some stand out sets from Eric PrydzDillon Francis and Steve Angello to name but a few, while Skrillex and Diplo premiered their latest collaboration project ‘Jack U’. Check out more Ultra highlights here. Skrillex unveiled his secret new album ‘Recess’, featuring a whole host of artists from  Fatman Scoop, Chance the Rapper and Diplo. On top of that, KlaxonsPaulo Nutini and Coldplay all announced exciting new album releases. Summer is edging closer and closer with further acts confirmed for GlastonburyV FestivalReading & LeedsLollapaloozaWireless and SW4 Last but not least, Radio 1 Residency added Tiesto and Martin Garrix as part of their already impressive ‘In new DJ’s We Trust’ lineup!

Now in April, we look forward to the second Coachella weekend, all of which can be streamed on their YouTube Channel and plenty more exciting new music releases.

1) Porter Robinson – Sea Of Voices

American DJ and producer Porter Robinson, who brought us previous singles such as ‘Easy’ and ‘Language’, has unveiled his new single ‘Sea Of Voices’. The single is the first new material from his highly anticipated debut album ‘Worlds’ and serves up an exciting new direction for the 21 year old. ‘Sea Of Voices’ delivers an earthly, etherial track with its soft synths and serene atmospheric vibes. With a noticeable lack of vocals  until at least the 3 minute mark, the instrumental heavy track builds to its euphoric crescendo, bringing M83’s Oblivion to mind with his recent cinematic scoring. ‘Sea Of Voices’ is available now.

2) Rene LaVice – Where My Ladies At

Canadian drum n bass producer Rene LaVice, dropped his new single ‘Where My Ladies At’ via Ram Records. The single serves as the follow up to LaVice’s debut album ‘Insidious’, which has seen LaVice take the dnb scene by storm. ‘Where My Ladies At’ fuses ragga and heavy basslines serving up one banger of a track. 2014 is set to be a big year for Lavice. Grab your copy here now, featuring the b side single ‘I Want More’.

3) Jack Beats – The Ill Shit

Plus One & Beni G, better known as Jack Beats, have released an infectious and lively B-side track ‘The Ill Shit’. The up-beat track is taken from their latest EP ‘Beatbox’ and is sure to get you up dancing within seconds with its bouncy electro-house vibes. The Beatbox EP was released through Skrillex’s OWSLA label and is available now. Upcoming dates for Jack Beats include Fabric in London on 18th April, before they embark on a tour of US, Canada and Mexico.

4) Eric Prydz – Liberate

From Pryda to Prydz and Cirez D, Eric Prydz has dominated the dance scene with his exceptional talent. The master of progressive house once again delivers with his latest offerings ‘Liberate’. The epic track received its premiere as Zane Lowes Hottest Record on BBC Radio1. Liberate presents an intricately layered track with its pulsating synths and looped vocals as it builds to a euphoric and liberating conclusion. ‘The world’s locked out/just close your eyes and we can push them all away’ couldnt ring more true when listening to this track. With Pryda recordings approaching its 10th anniversary, Prydz let slip a new album is being lined up to mark the occasion. Until then, be sure to catch Prydz at SW4 and Global Gathering. ‘Liberate’ is available now

5) Toddla T Sound – Acid

Sheffield’s finest and Radio 1 DJ/producer Toddla T, has unveiled his new single ‘Acid’, taken from his new 3 track EP ‘On Acid’. While the Toddla T is known for championing eclectic dance-hall inspired music, ‘Acid’ delivers an unintentionally house sounding record, but still packs a punch with it’s dark ominous vibes mixed with Jamaican rave influences and dance-hall style vocals; Think of it as house-on-acid! ‘Pandora’s Box and Phoney’ complete the 3 track EP and is available via Defected Records from May 5th.

Upcoming performances for Toddla T include the Toddla T Takeover in Cardiff, Bristol and Manchester as well as a set with his own label ‘Girls Music’ in Xoyo. You can be sure ‘Acid’ Live will be one visual and striking performance.

6) Yogi – Burial ft Pusha T

London producer trio Yogi have teamed up with US rapper Pusha T for their monstrous new single ‘Burial. The bass-heavy, trap track drops some filthy beats, with Pusha continuing to push the boundaries delivering his verses with such vigour. The track premiered with MistaJam on Radio 1 and serves us the follow up to the intense ‘Christian Bale’. ‘Burial’ is set for release May 5th via Skrillex’s OWSLA label.

7) Martin Garrix, Dimitri Vegas & Like Mike – Tremor

Martin Garrix once again makes my monthly favourites selection! Following on from Helicopter, Garrix has teamed up with fellow Spinnin record signees Dimitri Vegas and Like Mike for their massive new single ‘Tremor’.  With its big bassline drops and  infectious synth lines, this big room house track previously premiered at the DJ Mag awards in Amsterdam late last year but is finally avaiable for release April 21st via Spinnin Records. 17 year old Garrix is fresh from his incredible Ultra set in Miami and is set to perform at Coachella again next weekend with further dates including Lollapalooza, Creamfields and Global Gathering.

8) Elliphant – Revolusion

Mad Decent signee Elliphant, aka Sweedish singer Ellinor Olovsdotter, has worked with the likes of Diplo and Skrillex and has since built up quite the fanbase. With previous tracks including ‘Down At Home’, Elliphant has released her debut ep proper titled ‘Look Like You Love it’, featuring lead single Revolusion. Revolusion is raw and edgy with gritty vocals and distorted trap instrumentals. Eliphant is set to support M.I.A in Canada May 3-4th. In the meantime, grab your copy of Revolusioin now.

9) David Guetta and Showtek ft Vassy- Bad

Having both had stellar sets at Miamis Ultra festival, David Guetta has teamed up with dutch house duo Showtek (Booyah) and Australian vocalist Vassey to deliver an infectious, unrelenting club anthem, highlighting Showteks big room drops and Guettas infectious melodies. Bad is available now and is set to feature on Guettas forthcoming 6th studio album. Upcoming performances from Guetta include Global gathering while Showtek are due to perform at Coachella again for the second weekend.

Check out the full playlist below with over 40 minutes for your listening pleasure.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s